Middle Grade Round Up- October 2017


Review by Widget T.

Title: Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow by Jessica Townsend

Author: Jessica Townsend

Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Release Date: October, 2017

Morrigan Crow is going to die. She will, as every cursed child does, leave this world. But Morrigan doesn’t think that she’ll literally do that. With the help of Jupiter North, she cheats death by jumping time zones. Jupiter takes her to Nevermoor, a magical and whimsical place. She can stay there forever if she wants, but there’s a catch: Morrigan has to join the Wundrous Society, and to do that you need to pass 4 trials.

The first three trials vary — from the book trial to the fright trial to the chase and many others. But the last one is always the same: some sort of talent competition. Each child chosen for the Wundrous Society possesses some sort of magical talent from riding dragons, making people do what you want, to hair that always keeps growing. But Morrigan doesn’t have a knack, the magic gift, so how can she pass the last text? As the clock starts ticking Morrigan races to have a spot in the Wundrous Society no matter how impossible it seems.

This book had the right amount of make-believe magic and wonder for a reader who enjoys fantasy. It’s not like any book I’ve read. This is sort of like a magical school story with the usual bullies and besties with a dash of mystery. Its unique storyline allows readers to predict what happens yet still be surprised.

Review by Vivian L.

91fbjR3qEkL.jpgTitle: The War I Finally Won
Author: Kimberly Brubaker Bradley
Publisher: Dial Books
Release Date: October, 2017
The first book in this series, The War that Saved My Life, followes the story of a young girl named Ada with a crippled foot during World War 2. After evacuating from London with her brother, they go to live in the countryside with a woman named Susan. At Susan’s house she learns to ride a pony named Butter. In this second book, The War I Finally Won, the story continues in the countryside in a little cottage owned by a family named the Thorntons. Ada is able to have surgery to heal her foot and Laura Thorton, the daughter, brings home a German girl, Ruth, to stay with them but the rest of the family thinks she is a spy for the German army. Ada and Ruth become very good friends and Ada lets Ruth ride her horse Butter. Ada, Ruth, Jamie have many adventures in this book.
I like this book because it is full of comedy, seriousness, and adventures. This book is good for grades 2-6 or ages 8-12.
Review by Vivian L.
61GuV661a-LTitle: The Legend of Shadow High
Author: Shannon & Dean Hale
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Release Date: October, 2017
This book is about four girls that meet each other and go on an adventure to try to save the Land of Stories. First, two of the girls teleport from their one school to the other two girls’ school to meet up. Next, they end up following the margins to the Lost Library. At the Lost Library, they meet the evil queen trying to get to Shadow High. To save the Land of Stories, they have to put the chisel back in its socket in the volcano at Shadow High. When they teleport to Shadow High, they have a few obstacles to face before they can save the Land of Stories. Can they save the Land or Stories or not?
I like this book because it has a lot of great adventures in it for me to read about. It is funny and serious at the same time. I recommend this book for kids in grades 1-4, ages 7-10. If you like adventures and comedy stories, this is the book for you!